Star Crossed

A True Romeo and Juliet Story in Hitler's Paris

Heather Dune Macadam, Simon Worrall

EPUB
ca. 27,99 (Lieferbar ab 24. Januar 2023)
Amazon iTunes Thalia.de Weltbild.de Hugendubel Bücher.de ebook.de kobo Osiander Google Books Barnes&Noble bol.com Legimi yourbook.shop
* Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Hinweis: Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Links auf reinlesen.de sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links. Wenn du auf so einen Affiliate-Link klickst und über diesen Link einkaufst, bekommt reinlesen.de von dem betreffenden Online-Shop oder Anbieter eine Provision. Für dich verändert sich der Preis nicht.

Citadel Press img Link Publisher

Geisteswissenschaften, Kunst, Musik / Geschichte

Beschreibung

For readers of The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah who are hungry for a true account of Nazi Occupied Paris, Star-Crossed is the narrative nonfiction saga they can really sink their teeth into. Heather Dune Macadam and Simon Worrall transport readers to the past and introduce them to our Romeo and Juliet: a vivacious and beautiful, Jewish nineteen-year-old named Annette Zelman and a handsome young Catholic poet by the name of Jean Jausion. The pair are doomed to be torn apart by war, prejudice, and disapproving families in this deeply tragic and romantic historical tale.

Paris, 1940. The City of Light has fallen under German Occupation. Among patriotic Parisians, the pursuit of art, culture, and jazz have become bold acts of defiance. So has forbidden romance for talented and spirited Jewish teenager Annette Zelman, a student at the Beaux-Arts, and dashing young Catholic poet Jean Jausion. Despite their devout families’ vehement opposition, the young couple finds acceptance at the famed Café de Flore, whose habitues include Simone de Beauvoir, Jean-Paul Sartre, Pablo Picasso, Django Reinhardt, and other luminaries of the Latin Quarter’s creative world.

For a time, Annette and Jean feel they have eluded the brute might of the relentless Nazis—and more immediately, their parents’ threats and demands. But as restrictions on the Jewish community escalate to arrests and deportations, the maleficent forces gathering around the young lovers set them on divergent and tragically inevitable paths.

Drawn from never-before-published family letters and other treasures, as well as archival sources and exclusive interviews, Star-Crossed offers us precious insight into the Holocaust and the lives French people bravely led under the Hitler regime. This breathtaking true story of beauty, art, liberation, and the transformative power of love resonates with an intimate story of undying devotion, seen through the prism of history.

Weitere Titel von diesem Autor
Heather Dune Macadam
999
Heather Dune Macadam
Heather Dune Macadam
Heather Dune Macadam

Kundenbewertungen

Schlagwörter

WWII, Romeo and Juliet, liberation of Paris, Nazis, Holocaust, simone de Beauvoir, Latin Quarter, Free French, Paris, Free Zone, Hitler, European History, hubert jausion, fascism, Final Solution, German Occupation, Boulevard Strasbourg, Les Tourelles, Concentration camp, pablos picasso, Jewish History, Resistance, beaux-arts, Django Reinhardt, Persecution, Café Society, Theodor Dannecker, D-Day, Jewish, Occupied Paris, Auschwitz, Europe, City of Light, polish jews, Extermination, marcel duchamp, jean rouche, Annette Zelman, montagues and capulets, café de flore, prison camp, surrealist poets, internment camp, Coliseum, Apollinaire, jorge semprun, Allied invasion, jean paul sartre, Drancy, rersecution, Jean Jausion, Gestapo, cafe´ society, les reverberes