img Leseprobe Leseprobe

The Hero's Body

William Giraldi

EPUB
ca. 8,99
Amazon iTunes Thalia.de Weltbild.de Hugendubel Bücher.de ebook.de kobo Mayersche Osiander Google Books Barnes&Noble bol.com
* Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Hinweis: Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Links auf reinlesen.de sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links. Wenn du auf so einen Affiliate-Link klickst und über diesen Link einkaufst, bekommt reinlesen.de von dem betreffenden Online-Shop oder Anbieter eine Provision. Für dich verändert sich der Preis nicht.

Oldcastle Books img Link Publisher

Sachbuch / Biographien, Autobiographien

Beschreibung

'One of the best memoirs I've had in years' - Financial TimesAt just forty-seven years old, William Giraldi’s father was killed in a horrific motorcycle accident. Writing here with searing honesty about grief, obsession, shame and identity, he looks back on three generations of men from the blue-collar town of Manville, New Jersey, and tells their stories in tandem: the speed-crazed cult of his father’s ‘superbikes’, each Sunday spent racing fate along the winding back roads of Pennsylvania; the trauma of a son’s ultimate loss, and William’s attempts to rebuild a self in the manliest costume he knew. For a teen consumed by hardcore bodybuilding, pumping iron was so much more than a sport—it was a hallowed lifeline for a bookish tenth-grader, a way to forge himself a spot amongst his family’s imperious patriarchs.A work of lasting literary beauty, lauded by the New Yorker for its ‘unrelenting, perfectly paced prose’, The Hero’s Body is a tale of the working-class male, the codes of machismo and the unspoken bond between father and son.'Must reading, and not just for men' - Richard Russo'an absorbing memoir' - Times Literary Supplement'The Hero’s Body is a terse, gripping memoir set in working-class New Jersey. Giraldi’s hyper-masculine childhood is a foil for his revelations on the true fragility of male identity' - Guardian'I read The Hero’s Body with admiration, a deep sense of kinship and joy' - Howard Cunnell, author of Fathers and SonsFor readers who loved Oliver Sacks' On the Move, William Finnegan's Barbarian Days, Cathy Rentzenbrink's The Last Act of Love and Grayson Perry's The Descent of Man

Weitere Titel von diesem Autor
William Giraldi
William Giraldi

Kundenbewertungen

Schlagwörter

On the Move, gender politics, bodybuilding, motorcycle accident, hold the dark, motorcycles, Caitlin Moran, how to be a man, manville, new jersey, memoir, Grayson Perry, how to grieve, The Descent of Man, what it means to grieve, what does it mean to be a man, William Finnegan, being a man, Barbarian Days, How to be a Woman, Springsteen, hold the dark netflix adaptation, Oliver Sacks, Born to Run, masculinity, gender studies