Country Beyond: A Romance of the Wilderness

James Oliver Curwood

EPUB
ca. 6,55
Amazon iTunes Thalia.de Weltbild.de Hugendubel Bücher.de ebook.de kobo Osiander Google Books Barnes&Noble bol.com Legimi
* Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Hinweis: Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Links auf reinlesen.de sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links. Wenn du auf so einen Affiliate-Link klickst und über diesen Link einkaufst, bekommt reinlesen.de von dem betreffenden Online-Shop oder Anbieter eine Provision. Für dich verändert sich der Preis nicht.

Read Books Ltd. img Link Publisher

Belletristik / Spannung

Beschreibung

This early work by James Oliver Curwood was originally published in 1922 and we are now republishing it with a brand new introductory biography. Curwood's novel "e;The Country Beyond: A Romance of the Wilderness,"e; is a love story set in the back woods of Northern Canada during the early 1900s. It is a tale of romance and adventure in the wild, rugged Canadian wilderness. James Oliver 'Jim' Curwood was an American action-adventure writer and conservationist. He was born on 12th June, 1878, in Owosso, Michigan, USA. In 1900, Curwood sold his first story while working for the Detroit News-Tribune, and after this, his career in writing was made. By 1909 he had saved enough money to travel to the Canadian northwest, a trip that provided the inspiration for his wilderness adventure stories. The success of his novels afforded him the opportunity to return to the Yukon and Alaska for several months each year - allowing Curwood to write more than thirty such books. Curwood's adventure writing followed in the tradition of Jack London. Like London, Curwood set many of his works in the wilds of the Great Northwest and often used animals as lead characters (Kazan, Baree; Son of Kazan, The Grizzly King and Nomads of the North). Many of Curwood's adventure novels also feature romance as primary or secondary plot consideration. This approach gave his work broad commercial appeal and helped drive his appearance on several best-seller lists in the early 1920s. His most successful work was his 1920 novel, The River's End. The book sold more than 100,000 copies and was the fourth best-selling title of the year in the United States, according to Publisher's Weekly. He contributed to various literary and popular magazines throughout his career, and his bibliography includes more than 200 such articles, short stories and serializations. In 1927, while on a fishing trip in Florida, Curwood was bitten on the thigh by what was believed to have been a spider and he had an immediate allergic reaction. Health problems related to the bite escalated over the next few months as an infection set in. He died soon after in his nearby home on Williams Street, on 13th August 1927. He was aged just forty-nine, and was interred in Oak Hill Cemetery (Owosso), in a family plot.

Weitere Titel von diesem Autor
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
James Oliver Curwood
Weitere Titel zum gleichen Preis
Cover Project Amber
Carl Lakeland
Cover Do Not Wake The Beast
Patricia I Williams
Cover Runagates Club
John Buchan
Cover Firebase Seattle
Don Pendleton
Cover Most kezdodik
Beresi Csilla
Cover Through the Fire
David Stickler
Cover Captain Nemo
Kevin J. Anderson
Cover Road Home
John Keller
Cover Pair of Jacks
G.J. Jasper

Kundenbewertungen