img Leseprobe Leseprobe

The Turmoil

Booth Tarkington

ca. 6,49
Amazon iTunes Hugendubel Bü kobo Osiander Google Books Barnes&Noble Legimi Kulturkaufhaus
* Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Hinweis: Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Links auf sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links. Wenn du auf so einen Affiliate-Link klickst und über diesen Link einkaufst, bekommt von dem betreffenden Online-Shop oder Anbieter eine Provision. Für dich verändert sich der Preis nicht.

Read Books Ltd. img Link Publisher

Belletristik / Hauptwerk vor 1945


Newton Booth Tarkington (1869–1946) was an American dramatist and Pulitzer Prize-winning novelist. Among only three other novelists to have won the Pulitzer Prize more than once, Tarkington was one of the greatest authors of the 1910s and 1920s who helped usher in Indiana's Golden Age of literature. First published in 1915, Tarkington's novel “The Turmoil” was the first in what would become known as the “Growth Series”—together with “The Magnificent Ambersons” (1918) and “The Midlander” (1923)—which explores the rapid development of the Unites States through the eyes of the Ambersons, a declining aristocratic family living in Indianapolis during the final days of the Civil War. “The Turmoil” offers the reader a fantastic glimpse of a unique part of American history and is not to be missed by fans and collectors of Tarkington's seminal work. Other notable works by this author include: “Monsieur Beaucaire” (1900) and “Penrod” (1914). Read & Co. Classics are republishing this novel now in a new edition complete with a biography of the author from “Encyclopædia Britannica” (1922).



cynical writing style, must read American author, best satire works, industrial trilogy, award winning writers, American midwest fiction, the magnificent ambersons