Ten Masterpieces of Music

Harvey Sachs

ca. 29,99 (Lieferbar ab 26. Oktober 2021)
Amazon iTunes Thalia.de Weltbild.de Hugendubel Bücher.de ebook.de kobo Osiander Google Books Barnes&Noble bol.com Legimi
* Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Hinweis: Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Links auf reinlesen.de sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links. Wenn du auf so einen Affiliate-Link klickst und über diesen Link einkaufst, bekommt reinlesen.de von dem betreffenden Online-Shop oder Anbieter eine Provision. Für dich verändert sich der Preis nicht.

Liveright img Link Publisher

Geisteswissenschaften, Kunst, Musik / Musik


Some pieces of music survive; most fall into oblivion. What gives the ten masterpieces selected for this book their extraordinary vitality?

In this magisterial volume, Harvey Sachs, author of the highly acclaimed biography Toscanini, takes readers into the heart of ten great works of classical music—works that have endured because they were created by composers who had a genius for drawing music out of their deepest wellsprings. These masters—Mozart and Beethoven; Schubert, Schumann, Berlioz, Verdi, and Brahms; Sibelius, Prokofiev, and Stravinsky—communicated their life experiences through music, and through music they universalized the intimate.

By expanding our perceptions of these ten pieces—composed in the years between 1784 and 1966—Sachs, in lush, exquisite prose, invites us to consider why music stimulates, disturbs, exalts, and consoles us. He has lived with these masterpieces for a lifetime, and his descriptions of them and the dramatic lives of the composers who wrote them bring a heightened dimension to the musical perceptions of readers who may be casual listeners, students, professional musicians, or anyone in between.

Weitere Titel von diesem Autor



berlioz, beethoven, schubertschumann, classical music history, brahms, great composers, composer books, sibelius, orchestra books, mozart, verdi, prokofiev, composers, books about composers, stravinsky, best classical music