Chuckwalla Land

The Riddle of California's Desert

David Rains Wallace

EPUB
ca. 36,99
Amazon iTunes Thalia.de Weltbild.de Hugendubel Bücher.de ebook.de kobo Osiander Google Books Barnes&Noble bol.com Legimi
* Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Hinweis: Affiliatelinks/Werbelinks
Links auf reinlesen.de sind sogenannte Affiliate-Links. Wenn du auf so einen Affiliate-Link klickst und über diesen Link einkaufst, bekommt reinlesen.de von dem betreffenden Online-Shop oder Anbieter eine Provision. Für dich verändert sich der Preis nicht.

University of California Press img Link Publisher

Naturwissenschaften, Medizin, Informatik, Technik / Naturwissenschaften allgemein

Beschreibung

Described as "a writer in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau, John Muir, and other self-educated seers" by the San Francisco Chronicle, David Rains Wallace turns his attention in this new book to another distinctive corner of California—its desert, the driest and hottest environment in North America. Drawing from his frequent forays to Death Valley, Red Rock Canyon, Kelso Dunes, and other locales, Wallace illuminates the desert’s intriguing flora and fauna as he explores a controversial, unresolved scientific debate about the origin and evolution of its unusual ecosystems. Eminent scientists and scholars appear throughout these pages, including maverick paleobiologist Daniel Axelrod, botanist Ledyard Stebbins, and naturalists Edmund Jaeger and Joseph Wood Krutch. Weaving together ecology, geology, natural history, and mythology in his characteristically eloquent voice, Wallace reveals that there is more to this starkly beautiful landscape than meets the eye.

Weitere Titel von diesem Autor
David Rains Wallace
David Rains Wallace
Weitere Titel zum gleichen Preis
Cover Bird Senses
Graham R. Martin
Cover Dust in Galaxies
Cesare Cecchi-Pestellini
Cover Digital Materialism
Athina Karatzogianni
Cover The Ocean Economy in 2030
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
Cover Water Governance in Cities
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
Cover Mitigating Droughts and Floods in Agriculture
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)
Cover Drying Wells, Rising Stakes  Towards Sustainable Agricultural Groundwater Use
Organisation for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD)

Kundenbewertungen

Schlagwörter

science, extreme heat, nature, desert animals, landscape, earth sciences, american southwest, biosphere, naturalist, paleobiology, life sciences, red rock canyon, zoology, kelso dunes, desert plants, biome, death valley, ecology, arid, ecosystem, botany, geology, natural history, california, environmentalism, nonfiction, environment, conservation, desert, wasteland, cacti